Wednesday, May 23, 2007

1981 Liverpool 1-0 Real Madrid

The season 1980-81 of the European Cup football club tournament was won for a third time by Liverpool FC in the final against Real Madrid. In eleven seasons up to and including this one, there were only four winners of the European Cup (Ajax Amsterdam, Bayern Munich, Nottingham Forest and Liverpool), but interestingly there were eleven different runners up.

This record would have continued into the next year as well, but Bayern lost to first time finalists Aston Villa.

No comments: